Personal Motivations for a Career in Counseling


I have a couple of different motivations for becoming a counselor.  The first one is, I know what it’s like to suffer from something you feel devastated about and to feel like you have no one on your side to help you.  I also know what it’s like to suffer from something you feel devastated about and to have a great support system.  It seems like one person should not have such a different experience when it comes to things that are happening to them or around them, but I think everyone goes through experiences where they have people who can relate, and then experiences where the people around them cannot relate at all.  When you have the support system, it is still never going to be easy, but to have someone you can talk to and tell your true feelings to, someone who won’t judge you, the healing is able to come faster.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

The second motivation I have is also my reward; I have people who often come to me so I will listen to them, and also for advice.  When they come to me and I see the light bulb come on, or they come back and say, “you know I tried that, and it’s working” or “I feel a lot better now”, it makes me feel like I’ve made a difference in that person’s world.  It makes me feel good to know that I’ve helped them in some way.  The smile or the look that someone gets when they realize it’s not too much, that they can pull through and they are not alone, that there is someone who understands.  It makes me very happy that I can be there for that person to help them come through whatever challenge they are facing at that time.

I have learned a few things about myself, one thing is that I have a talent and a purpose on this earth, and that is to help people get where they need to be.  I have also learned that I have more patience than I ever thought possible and that all the experiences I have been through in my life have been to help me understand what other people are experiencing.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

As I think about what my motivations are, I would say that I am so new to this field and even to the notion of becoming a counselor, that my motivations have not had a chance to change; I have only just found them.  I do feel that as I move along my journey my motivations will change and grow along with my goals.  If these things do not change and grow with you, then it seems you will go stale in the career and lose site of the reason you became a counselor in the first place.

3 thoughts on “Personal Motivations for a Career in Counseling

Leave a Reply

